Access databases that your library subscribes to… for free with your library card!
Ancestry Library Edition [ProQuest] – (In-house Use Only) The largest online family history resource available… exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com.
Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls, and more.
BC Historical Newspapers– Accessible to anyone located in B.C. or the Yukon BC Historical Newspapers bring you a century of almost 5 million digitized page of news, features, editorials, ads and images showcasing B.C.’s heritage. Access made possible by the library members of the British Columbia Electronic Library Network (BC ELN), the BC Libraries Cooperative and Focused Education Resources.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
Canadian Subsidy Directory – This publication will link you to thousands of grants, loans and programs available across Canada for businesses, non-profit organizations and personal projects. You will find inside, detailed contact information along with a description of each grant, loan or program.
Canadian Newsstream [ProQuest] – Full-text access to over 200 Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The Vancouver Sun and many local BC papers. Coverage back to the 1970s and 1980s for some newspapers.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] – Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S.
Creativebug – Creativebug is the easy-to-use, high-quality online art & craft education resource used by libraries around the world. Patrons have unlimited access to thousands of classes for every skill level. Professionally filmed & edited content taught by experienced art educators
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Gale Courses – Never stop learning. Whether you are looking for college level, professional development, or person enrichment courses. Granisle Public Library now offers hundreds of online instructor led courses that are accessible online 24/7. Gale Courses offer well-crafted lessons, expert online instruction, and interaction with fellow students.
Granisle Public Library Niche Academy The Granisle Public Library is excited to announce that all patrons now have access to free Niche Academy training and tutorial videos.Niche Academy provides tutorials on a wide variety of resources and skills. Included are tutorials for using our e-Resources such as Libby, Gale Courses and LinkedIn Learning. Search through tutorials to learn how to make a gmail account or facebook page. You can access these tutorials even when your library is closed!
Kanopy – Kanopy is an online database of films, documentaries, series, video courses and children’s content you can access with your library card. Stream films, anytime on your preferred devices; free for you-brought to you by your library.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC – “The lending source of BC information. KnowBC is brought to you by the Encyclopedia of British Columbia, a major reference that brings together everything you always wanted to know about BC.”
LinkedIn Learning – “Learn business, creative and technology skills to achieve your personal and professional goals. Get access to thousands of courses over a variety of subjects and learn on your time. Find the right course for you on LinkedIn Learning.
MasterFile Full Text Premier – General reference full-text articles from hundreds of books, encyclopedias, and magazines. Includes popular magazines such as Maclean’s, New Yorker.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.
Tumblebooks – ebooks for eKids!
World Book Encyclopedia – All of these products are available for your use:
- World Book Online Info Finder. Video Tutorial [22:04 minutes]
- World Book Online Reference Center. Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]
- World Book Online For Kids. Video Tutorial [13:43 minutes]
- L ‘Encyclopédie Découverte. Video Tutorial [4:45 minutes]